Gabriola Island Recycling Organization

Minutes - 2014 Annual General Meeting

July 15, 2014, 7:00pm

Gabriola Island Community Hall

Chair: Jackie O'Hara (Vice-President, Board of Directors) Secretary: Charlotte Belair

Members in attendance: 48 (names attached to copy of minutes in Minute Book)

- 1. Call to order: by Vice President, Jackie O'Hara at 7:05 pm.
- 2. Determination of legality of meeting: quorum was present and adequate advance notification was provided.
- 3. Proposed chair for the remainder of meeting.
 - a. Jackie O'Hara stated that, in the absence of a Board member willing to chair the meeting, the Board suggests that Nancy Hetherington Peirce be chosen by the members at act as chair for the remainder of the meeting.
 - b. MOTION Moved by Richard Nolan: That Nancy Hetherington Peirce, a GIRO member, acts as chair for this meeting as per GIRO Bylaw 21b. CARRIED

Nancy Hetherington Peirce chaired the remainder of the meeting.

- 4. Adoption of the rules of order
 - a. MOTION Moved by David Andrews: That the rules of order for this meeting will be "Robert's Rules of Order, 11th Edition". CARRIED
- Adoption of the Agenda MOTION Moved by Margaret St. Denis to approve the agenda as distributed.
 CARRIED
- 6. Consideration and adoption of minutes:
 - a. Minutes of the Annual General Meeting, April 16, 2013
 - a. Questions were raised, and responses provided by both Board and staff members. In particular there was a question regarding the necessity of registering all bylaw amendments with the B.C. Registry. No one present was certain that this registration had been done after the 2013 AGM decisions regarding amendments to the bylaws. Therefore it was agreed to use the previous bylaws until the 2013 amendments would be registered with the government.
 - b. MOTION Moved by Neila Coe to approve the minutes of the previous AGM. CARRIED
 - b. Minutes of Extraordinary General Meeting, September 5 and October 8, 2013 Questions were raised and responses provided by both Board and staff members. MOTION Moved by Waverlea Tezak to approve the minutes of the General Meetings. CARRIED

7. Directors' Report

 Questions were raised and responses provided by both Board and staff members.

 MOTION Moved by Ruth Miller to approve the Directors' report with the following corrections:

 a. Changes in membership #2 : Robbie Stadfield, Director-at-Large resigned in June 2013

 b. Facilities, second paragraph should read : "In the Fall of 2012 GIRO applied for, and in 2013 was awarded, \$75,000 from the RDN for a building project".

 CARRIED

 8. Treasurer's Report

 Questions were raised and responses provided by both the Treasurer and GIRO members.

 MOTION Moved by Robbie Stadfield to approve the Treasurer's Report.

 CARRIED

 9. Financial Review for 2014

 MOTION Moved by Richard Nolan to appoint Cheryl McNeill to provide a Compilation Engagement report of the 2014 GIRO financial records.

10. Election of Directors
a. Nancy Hetherington Peirce and Pat Maloney presented the results of their work as the Nominations Committee. The following positions were uncontested and therefore elected by acclamation: President : Jackie O'Hara 2 year term
Vice-President : Michelle McEwan 1 year term
Secretary : Margaret St. Denis 1 year term
Treasurer : Peter Dzierzawa 1 year term
Member-at-Large : Peter Joyes 2 year term
Member-at-Large David Andrews 2 year term

Voting for three Members-at-Large, 1 year term positions were held by secret ballot. Elected were: Member-at-Large : Bruce Taylor 1 year term Member-at Large : Neila Coe 1 year term Member-at-Large : Susan Brown 1 year term

11. Adjournment : 8:55 pm MOTION Moved by Neila Cole to adjourn the meeting

CARRIED