Gabriola Island Recycling Organization

Minutes of 2016 Annual General Meeting - May 11, 2016 at 7:00pm, Gabriola Island Community Hall

Chair: Susan Brown (Chair, Board of Directors)

Secretary: Nancy Hetherington Peirce (Secretary, Board of Directors)

- 1. The Chair called the meeting to order at 7:05pm. There were fifteen people in attendance; names are listed on a separate page in the minute book.
- 2. Confirmation of proper advance notice and quorum: The Chair confirmed that a quorum of members was present, and adequate advance notice of the meeting had been provided.
- 3. Adoption of the rules of order
 - a. **MOTION:** Kees Langereis That the rules of order for this meeting will be "Robert's Rules of Order Newly Revised, 11th Edition".
- 4. Acknowledgement of the Published Agenda
 - a. The Chair explained that the agenda published in the Notice of Meeting (The Sounder, April 26/16; members email list) is the agenda for this Annual General Meeting, according to the GIRO Bylaws regarding agendas for Annual General Meetings.
- 5. Adoption of minutes
 - a. **MOTION**: Jacinthe Eastick *To approve the minutes of the 2015 Annual General Meeting on May 6, 2015, as posted on the GIRO website on April 26, 2016.*

CARRIED

- 6. 2015 Annual Report of the GIRO Board of Directors
 - a. The Report of the GIRO Board of Directors for the 2015 year was distributed at the meeting, and there was some discussion of the information. Several people spoke of the excellent work of the General Manager, Michelle MacEwen, during her first year in this new position.
 - b. **MOTION:** Lynn Stefanson *To accept the 2015 Board of Directors' Report as distributed.* CARRIED
- 7. 2015 Financial Statement
 - a. Barry Loescher, Board Treasurer, presented a written summary of the GIRO 2015 Annual Financial Statement, and there was discussion of the information. A printed copy of the complete 2015 Annual Financial Statement was available at the meeting for review.
 - b. **MOTION:** Barry Loescher To accept the 2015 Annual Financial Statement as presented. CARRIED

- 8. Election of Directors to the GIRO Board
 - a. Nancy Hetherington Peirce, chair of the Nominations Committee, presented the report of the Nominations Committee.
 - 1. According to GIRO Bylaws, GIRO Board of Directors is nine members.
 - According to Board Policy: The slate of nominees from the Nominations Committee is published in the Notice of Meeting, two weeks in advance of the AGM. Members have until 48 hours before the AGM to submit other nominations. Nominations are not permitted at the AGM.
 - 3. Five people were nominated by the Nominations Committee. No nominations were submitted by members by the closing date of May 9, 2016.
 - 4. Two current Board members are finishing their service on the Board: Peter Joyes

Nancy Hetherington Peirce

5. Two Board members are continuing in their current terms:

Susan Brown	(2 nd term)	to 2017 AGM
Neila Coe	(2 nd term)	to 2017 AGM

6. Nominated by the Nominations Committee, for the seven available positions:

Kees Langereis	(2 nd term)	to 2018 AGM
Lynn Stefanson	(2 nd term)	to 2018 AGM
•	,	
Barry Loescher	(2 nd term)	to 2019 AGM
Carolyn Sams	(1st term)	to 2019 AGM
David Swanson	(1 st term)	to 2019 AGM

- b. Each nominee spoke briefly regarding their relevant experience and their interest in serving on the GIRO Board. Nancy read information provided by Carolyn Sams, who was unable to attend the meeting.
- c. Since there were not more than seven nominees, Nancy declared the five nominees elected by acclamation.
- 9. Adjournment at 7:50pm.
 - a. **MOTION:** Joyce Babula That the meeting is adjourned.

CARRIED